What went wrong THIS time
< prev archive next >
Ahhhh shopping for a computer is too overwhelming. This is my first time. My family had the same computer from when I was in second grade through the first few months of my freshman year; then, my dad decided to get with the times (from Windows 3.0 to Windows98 .. in the year 2000) and we have this computer that I bitch about but still use a lot. And now I (well, my parents) can afford to buy ME one, as I'm going to a state school and not to Oberlin ... which has its ups and downs. The up is that I don't have to steal someone else's computer and rummage through mess hall trash cans and sleep in an alley in order to attend college; the down is that I was really, genuinely excited about Oberlin, and the feeling's not subsiding or even transferring over to the school I will attend (and will visit in a couple days). Poor little college girl! Finding a computer that comes with the right components and doesn't prey on a financial conscience is so hard! Poor little college THIS and poor little Intel-Centrino mobile technology THAT!

... sigh. But at least with the computer, I know that once I get it I'll be excited. Mainly with the CD-RW drive. Actually, I have an electronic typewriter in my basement somewhere. The CD burner and a good downloading program / music source while I can still get away with it is probably all I need. (It's frightening now that I have to say "while I can still get away with it." Eeee! In just a few short years I've become extremely attached to piracy.)

So:

- cd burner

- electronic typewriter

- access to kazaa lite

- one of those pen cameras

- shampoo

- my complimentary Oberlin t-shirt

- Radiohead poster (does double duty as extra-long blanket)

READY FOR COLLEGE 2K3!!!!!!!

2003-07-24 12:44 a.m.
profile notes e-mail
Diaryland