What went wrong THIS time
< prev archive next >
NOW PLAYING MY BLOODY VALENTINE THORN!!

Crazy diaryland templates are, like, having a wack/whack attack.

NOW PLAYING MAGNETIC FIELDS STRANGE POWERS!! (Yes, it took 3:37 to type one poor excuse for a sentence.)

Well, today (Friday) Denise and I went downstate with her mom to visit our future campus. (We are going to be rooming together but we're no strangers.) My agenda was as follows:

- get an ID card, put money on it: accomplished. I look pretty horrible on it, which is annoying because .. people have to .. identify .. me using the photo. Also, to borrow library books and get student discounts on all sorts o' wares, I've got to show the ringers/cashiers my seemingly hung over expression. Gr888888. But I'm too much of a cheapskate to not show the card for discounts.

- find out where the nearest bank in which I have accounts is located: accomplished. It's not within walking distance, but it's within bus distance. It's also down a main road, past about 5,000,000,000,000 pancake/waffle houses. I'm kind of not exaggerating there, but am I complaining? No, because I'm a waffle person.

- find out what various things on the Dell computer website meant: not accomplished. My dad wanted me to ask the Technology Center people what certain things meant, but ehh. Too many "Center" buildings to keep track of; I can find out about the computer stuff later, like Sunday.

NOW PLAYING SALT N PEPA PUSH IT AKA MY THEME SONG FOR SOME REASON!!

Denise's mom got a lot accomplished. Most of it was specific to Denise, which I didn't mind because questions about medicine and allergies are fairly important for living, but we also finagled our way into exploring our dorm building when it was closed. We were walking around the building and peering through the windows/cobwebs -- we would have been pretty creepy if anyone had been in the building. But a campus horticulturist (Mike) came driving up in his cart; he needed to contact someone? or do something? with the building, and as Denise's mom got to talking with him, he went and eventually found a way to get inside the building. YAY it was covert and kind of cool -- cool also in the sense that it's one of the air-conditioned dorms. I hope that by late August the dank smell will go away, but I'll probably be all too used to it within a short amount of time.

NOW PLAYING THE RUSSIAN FUTURISTS LET'S GET READY TO CRUMBLE!!

Denise's mom also wanted to buy us each a t-shirt from the college bookstore, which was nice, but the good stuff were mostly sweatshirts, which were ridiculously expensive. SUDDENLY though Denise pointed out the kids' clothing wall, which had Snoopy & Woodstock shirts with the college name printed below or beside him. ROCK. So my only college apparel right now is actually Peanuts apparel too.

I thought the Russian Futurists' song was longer.

NOW PLAYING MY BLOODY VALENTINE THORN (AGAIN)!!

Also, while Denise and her mom set up a bank account, I went to a record shop. According to the staff guys, it's the only independent music store in the area, and the rest are all "mainstream." So I said I would probably be spending more time in the shop come August, so I can spend even more time dodging the mainstream by checking the used racks for soundtracks to Whoopi Goldberg movies :-) ... which is what I did. I wasn't explicitly looking for the soundtrack to 'Eddie' but I found it. It should be good, though; I finally held a real-life copy of 'Starlite Walker' instead of just listening to mp3s of "New Orleans" and "Rebel Jew", I contemplated buying several other things before realizing that I would probably run out of money for Saturday (today) if I went above seven dollars. Lo and behold, a used 'Teenager of the Year' was $7.00. So now issmine.

I want to put an actual thought in here and not namedropping and a retelling, but I'm tired and I have to go to rehearsal tomorrow morning. I'll continue this later. PS I SUCK DONKEY AT THE CLARINET OR MAYBE MY REEDS SUCK DONKEY

EITHER WAY, I FEEL SORRY FOR THE OTHER PEOPLE IN PIT ORCHESTRA BECAUSE I WILL RIP UP THEIR EAR DRUMS WITH MY "PLAYING"

EVEN IN THE LOWER OCTAVE

F THAT SQUEAKING

OK

2003-07-26 12:30 a.m.
profile notes e-mail
Diaryland