What went wrong THIS time
< prev archive next >
Tobey Maguire is most wonderful. I'd think that I would get annoyed by his voice, but it's so endearing and .. uh, wonderful. It's almost the same as with me and Owen Wilson, except with him I found his voice to be really grating at first -- how can so much Texas honk and tonk be infused into one man? and it's not like his brothers are that bad.. -- but now it's idiosyncratically endearing. Southern accents have always been a mixed bag for me.

I, being from an area with no real distinct accent and having lived in places with contrasting accents, am in love with voices and dialects and linguistics. The guy I had a crush on last year had the deepest voice I'd ever heard, which was always startling because he had such a deceiving frame (thin, pasty, etc.) and he didn't seem to be an avid chatter, so when he *did* talk you'd look around to try and find Barry White. ("Wow, what is Barry White doing here at marching band practice?") Then, I found out he had lived in Australia for ten years, so [1] his SEXEHNESS factor shot up 300% (it's unfair, I know, but I can't help it; I thought he was "SEXEH" before, anyway) and [2] I started hearing (or imagining) the slight Aussie influence in his speech. And he had a fascination with knives and weaponry, no less (he bought a sword at Medieval Times during the spring trip). It's too bad I never saw him with a digeridoo (spell?).

Man, I don't know how I can ever top that crush.

2002-03-27 3:38 a.m.
profile notes e-mail
Diaryland