What went wrong THIS time
< prev archive next >
Today may be dubbed 'cassette tape day.' On the way to the calculus study session / dropping my brother off at his guitar lesson, I found that the tape player in my dad's car does indeed! work, albeit with a loud tinny quality. We listened to an eleven-year-old Reader's Digest classical music compilation.

Denise gave me a ride back from the study session. Although both our brains were fried and filled with hate for mathematicians and mathematical theorists everywhere, we bobbed our heads to the tunes on a mixtape I made her for Christmas 2000. Somehow the songs were much better suited to the spring-y weather we had today. Or maybe the Lucksmiths are never winter weather artists. Neh.

When I got home, I found my cassette copy of 'Indoor Living' and dutifully rocked out -- indoors! Someday I should get that album on CD and not just depend on borrowing it from the library and making pirated cassette copies. Same with 'Girls Can Tell' (side B of the tape). But really, 'Indoor Living' is grrreat.

Then I thought about digging around for my cassette of 'London Calling' because I wanted to fast-forward to "Spanish Bombs," but .. somehow I got sidetracked and the idea never fully took form. But the thought counts.

And I learned the piano part to "Like Spinning Plates (live version)" yesterday!! This has absolutely nothing to do with cassette tapes. I am just so proud! I can play arpeggios all out of order and whatsits! I'll have no pooh-poohing from actual piano players here. I am human and I need to be loved, and if that source of love is the so-called "greatest love of all" spurred on by conquering a kind-of-simple Radiohead chord/arpeggio solo, then SO BE IT.

2003-04-06 10:53 p.m.
profile notes e-mail
Diaryland