What went wrong THIS time
< prev archive next >
It has been exactly ten days since my last entry, and it will be ten thousand days until I actually start on all my summer vacation projects.

SEE: touching my calculus assignment with a ten-foot pole.

SEE: plowing through tedious Spanish exercise packet. I figure that watching Univision / Telemundo / the other Spanish-speaking channel has been a good step so far. [In 'La Copa de la Vida', the cute/geeky chico has written an anonymous love carta to his secret crush, a chica in his circle of amigos, but she has mistaken the identity of her secret admirer for a really creepy old viejo with a yucky moustache who really doesn't pass for a high school estudiante! At all!]

SEE: reading The Awakening or Jude the Obscure and/or A Light in August and/or Invisible Man (with the latter, I am on page 23, which is good). And apparently I'm required to *buy* copies of the two books I read! What's that! I don't have the bill$ to buy paperback books, I've been saving for my 'Royal Tenenbaums' DVD set. [I know it came out yesterday, but at that moment I was predisposed at a Mexican restaurant, eating my chicken chimichanga. Tomorrow, my sweet.]

SEE: doing SOMETHING for government; I haven't really read the assignment yet. Uhgood.

SEE: contacting my saxophone teacher about summer lessons, like I was supposed to do FIVE WEEKS AGO.

SEE: changing my near-moldy bedsheets, because I'm kind of somewhat an especially slobby procrastinator.

SEE: finishing a temporary (read: permanent) version of my website, which I SWEAR will get finished tooo-nite. Unless fate says otherwise.

---

But: on Sunday, my father came home from his 22-month (in total) post in Algiers, for good this time. There have been a lot of balloons popping as well as much eating of cake, imbibing of alcohol (specifically the Dos XX beer and strawberry margaritas at yesterday's Mexican restaurant), watching of TV. And my dog has only barked at him once in three days -- a welcome change of heart.

But: a load of laundry that has gathered Godknowshowmuch shit over three weeks of sitting in my room is, as I type, being dried in the utility room in the basement. Just one floor below me at the computer desk and a couple of feet to the left.

But: I have not hit a new low by searching for mp3s by Corey Feldman's band, Truth Movement (to no avail, and I felt disappointed). I was already that low. I just downloaded a full minute of "It's So Tough To Be a Baby" (or something like that) by that French toddler from several years ago. RRRAAAAAHHHHHH.

2002-07-10 8:54 p.m.
profile notes e-mail
Diaryland