What went wrong THIS time
< prev archive next >
I'm sorry but I'm gonna precede this entry with the phrase, "I really don't wanna sound like a jerk (even if I am one) but--"

OK, so there are people who get on my nerves a little. If they are the type that are snobby, it's not so bad, because I can avoid hanging out with them and it's even easier for them to not hang out with me, by their very nature. Not much of a problem there.

Then, there are some kids who kind of annoy me, but are pretty courteous toward me, and aren't snobby or anything -- so I have nothing to hold against them or their character, except for the vague sense of irritation they often (unknowingly, I think?) leave with me. Maahhhhhhh. And ever since seeing the other kids I would be sharing a hall with in next year's dorm, I was a little concerned. My future roommate is supremely awesome and I know other kids who are fun and nice and not grating, but I really hope I don't go insane because of some of the other people.

This paragraph will be preceded by a "And this is petty, but--": Another kid with interests similar to mine is in a couple of the same activities I am in. Yesterday when the subject of a certain-band-beloved-by-me came up with some other people (who also be-love this band), the kid was all, "Who are ___?" which is fine, of course. But he said, "Even I've never heard of them, I can't believe I've never heard of them" and kept repeating it. And if he were joking, hahaok. But it really seemed like he wasn't, and it really got on my nerves, because this is the same kid who had never heard of the Stooges or the MC5 last semester, and he's all 'H-WHAAAT? I HAVE NOT HEARD OF THIS BAND?? HOW CAN THIS BEEEEE??? and I felt the urge to make an asshole comment. Were I able to think of one, I might have said it, or at least typed it in place of this sentence.

I know it's impossible to get along swimmingly with everyone, but I feel like a jerk for keeping a lid on my jerkiness AND I would feel like a jerk for saying something to them that (were incoherent, but ultimately) would hurt their feelings.

.

.

.

AND YET THERE ARE MANY GOODGREATAMAZINGLYAWESOME PEOPLE too. I just want to make that clear. It would be wonderful to feel closer to some of them. Hopefully they are not writing disguised diaryland rants about me.

2004-03-24 1:31 a.m.
profile notes e-mail
Diaryland