What went wrong THIS time
< prev archive next >
My life is mostly other people's lives right now, but it is actually really great, as long as they are feeling great about it too.

+ news of engagements, grad schools, job things, pregnancies
+ the Up series (!!!!)
+ persuing Craigslist and comparing Washington DC missed connections with Hampton Roads ones: was that you with King Abdullah versus kym why won't you call
+ other people's poetry, for free in the English department book sale. The first one I saw:

Awaiting Your Arrival

I'm feeling this feeling.
It's not really scared.
She said she'd be here at eight
And I want to be prepared.

Dinner's in the oven.
Slow music's floating around.
Throw my clothes in a basket
And pull the shades down.

I vacuumed the floor.
Everything's looking nice.
The table is set
And the wine is on ice.

The china is clean.
The table cloth is the best.
My five o'clock shadow's gone
Plus I'm already dressed.

It's seven fifty-one,
Nine minutes to go.
Awaiting your arrival.
Hope my nerves don't show.

Incense is burning.
Anticipation reaches much.
I light up the candles
For a little added touch.

Seven fifty-nine.
If she's late, then oh well.
I hope not. Ding! Dong!
There goes the doorbell.

�Charles L. Matthews, Journal of Organized Thought

I would here and now like to encourage all creative types to get out there and do their thing, because if Charles L. Matthews can do it, you can. (My favorite lines are "Anticipation reaches much," "Ding! Dong!," and "Plus I'm already dressed.")

2007-03-06 3:19 a.m.
profile notes e-mail
Diaryland