What went wrong THIS time
< prev archive next >
Right now, the only diaryland page that is loading at a tolerable rate is the "add an entry" page. How lucky!, because I want to mention my AP exam scores to SOMEthing at least. Diaryland text box, it's your time in the sun. Any other readers, it's your time to let your eyeballs roll back into your heads.

I signed up for college courses assuming that I would receive credit for all of my scores, which was a stretch but was the only way I could approach the prospect of selecting courses without feeling really wishy-washy and whiny. But I didn't have to worry too much! I won't receive credit for all of them but hey, who needs credit to graduate from college anyway? (Wait a minute.)

US Government & Politics -- 3. Which was good compared to my forecast of 1, or 2. Which was amazing considering my essays were slapped together OR nonexistent. I would only have gotten credit for American Government 201 with a score of 5, but I don't think I would even take American Government classes anyway. But then again I have no idea what I will major or minor in so nehhhh.

English Literature & Composition -- 4. Pretty nice. I was thinking maybe a 3, but some exam grader out there must have been nice to me. It fits directly with my straight Bs in the class through the whole year. (Actually, I had As at the interims, but there was always some sort of banana in my path before the actual quarter grades were computed. In one case, a D+-shaped banana. You're the best, "Analyze 'My Last Duchess' in ohhhh, an hour and a half" project!)

BC Calculus -- 3. OH MAN, HOW DID THAT HAPPEN. That class was ridiculous. RIDICULOUS. And the exam was just as ridiculous. During the break between the multiple-choice and free-response sections, my teacher gave us bagels and donuts, which was very nice of him, but I only got one of the last donuts -- a cinnamon / jelly / something one -- and more of the free-response papers was probably covered in sticky donut stuff than in my writing an answer. AND my AB Calculus subscore was a 4. A 4. God-DAMN it (to be said in the Mr Jellineck voice), I should have taken that class and rid myself of the "C" nonsense. BUT ANYWAY NOW THAT IT IS DONE I CAN GET CREDIT FOR MATH 111 a.k.a. CALCULUS AND POSSIBLY NEVER HAVE TO TAKE ANYTHING CALCULUS-RELATED AGAIN. Even though I almost enjoyed integrating, in a really sick, math-y sort of way.

and Spanish Language -- 5! Awww yes! Damn, girl [to myself]! I may as well be one of the kids in my class who actually lived in a Spanish-speaking country (other than the US)! I don't know, I'm just happy about that, because it disproves my grades in the class itself (teetering around the B, sometimes B+ range) and shows that I'm a force to be reckoned with. Una forca con que una persona debe reckoner ... shit.

I really like the idea that I'm getting a lot better in learning a language, but my comprehension has dropped 5000% since the last day of school (on which, incidentally, I had a Spanish chapter test). It's sad. And now I don't know what to do for continuing it in college, because I signed up for Hispanic Studies 207, thinking that I would get a 4, but now I find that I place out of HS206 *and* HS207, and the next course is HS208 (um, yes) -- a Spanish literature course. And I'm a bit frightened by the prospect of a literature course, because I'm all about grammar and techniques. Notice how I did not take AP Spanish Literature. And I know I want to study Japanese, so I feel like there's a fork in the road (if not a banana).

But DAYUM! Who knew that my performance in the oral portion (OH yes) of the exam wouldn't be enough to bring me down! HAH!

2003-07-23 12:42 a.m.
profile notes e-mail
Diaryland