What went wrong THIS time
< prev archive next >
Let us go backwards in time. I've now finished my first real on-air radio slot. It was supposed to be two hours (noon-2PM today), but the first hour was chock full of things like:

  • not exactly remembering how to turn the transmitter on;

  • looking for the phone number of the tech person;

  • not exactly remembering the phone authorization code I needed to make a call;

  • and forgetting to blank out lyrical curse words. Not that anyone could hear it, though.

    But I fixed everything for the second hour, and it was pretty smooth after that. It's nice and peaceful in the station, having the first show of the day. And I listened to Anne's show after mine, and she played the 13th Floor Elevators song I really like (as I only know three 13th Floor Elevators songs), and I was happy (and psychedelically creeped out by that song).

    Saturday night was the film festival variety show. For a second during the somewhat hectic ticket-taking process, it seemed like one of my fellow film festival crew people was about to explode in a billion momentary-bitch-tastic directions. I don't claim to be really levelheaded, but man, I hope she never gets truly stressed out; at least, I hope I'm not in the general vicinity of the violence, when it happens.

    The show went surprisingly well -- there was a big audience turnout (the reason for the hectic selling and reimbursing of tickets), and the groups were really "on point." As usual I enjoyed the sketch comedy portion, even as it was all slightly-tweaked sketches I'd seen in previous performances, but I was kind of surprised to see at least eight elderly people leave the audience during the bit. What's the deal, old people? Come on ... way to be old. (I am youngish and assholeish.)

    Friday I wandered around and saw the Russian folk singers and some student bands with technical difficulties (the music still moved me, though), and waited with people at the coffeehouse and watched student films (some of which were very enjoyable, a couple of which were wayyyyy toooooo long).

  • 2004-03-28 5:26 p.m.
    profile notes e-mail
    Diaryland