What went wrong THIS time
< prev archive next >
NOW THAT YOU'VE MADE ME WANT TO DIE

YOU TELL ME THAT YOU'RE UNBOYFRIENDABLE

Maybe I should just START CAPITALIZING EVERYTHING EVERYWHERE ALL THE TIME. Even Magnetic Fields lyrical excerpts, especially the ones that are really beautiful and sung in a decidedly UN-SHOUTING TONE AND LEVEL OF VOICE.

Here's a phenomenon I've been wanting to mention: I was flipping through the new issue of Spin at the bookstore on Sunday because of both the JIMMY FALLON QUOTIENT (I don't know if that link is viewable, sorry) and the fact that I indulge in a little Spin despite its smarminess sometimes.

The phenomenon part of it is that it had a short article on Diaryland. Yes! And LiveJournal, too. And I was all, "Hey, I know what they're talking about. IN FACT, I AM A USER OF BOTH OF THOSE SERVICES." [Just shouted this to myself inside the Borders, you know.] And a long while ago they had an article about the infamous make.out.club., of which I am *not* a member because ... I don't know, somehow it seems really creepy to me. Maybe tomorrow I'll go back on what I said and you'll see my profile under "mika_is_[insert scene here]xcore".

ANYWAY, the phenomenon part is that usually magazines inform me of what's hip to the jungsters out there. And now, on two occasions, I KNEW ABOUT HIP THINGS BEFORE THE ALMIGHTY SPIN MAGAZINE DID (or published blurbs about them, anyway). Wait -- I knew about Upright Citizens Brigade and the glorious Anderson-Wilson filmmaking team (Royal Tenenbaums up for at least best original screenplay ALRIGHT!) before I read their articles. Maybe some other things, too.

That was a really roundabout way of telling you about the phenomenon (it's a 'phenom' to me, at least), but now it's over.

Out like trout.

2002-02-13 3:40 p.m.
profile notes e-mail
Diaryland