What went wrong THIS time
< prev archive next >
Concert revues: it's been kind of a dry period here at home. With that...

I saw PM Dawn kind of, in the coffeehouse in my town that used to be an all-Christian venue only, but didn't actually front the money so I was about thirty feet further away from them. But seriously the first(!#@$@) song they played was "Set Adrift..", and I got there as their second song was starting. And it wasn't I'd Die Without You either but their version of No Woman No Cry, which later spilled into an acapella version of Norwegian Wood. I couldn't believe it!! From superficial searches on the internet it seemed like they might not have even played "S.A.O.M.B." because they wanted to put the drama that stemmed from fame behind them. I couldn't blame them, I guess, but secretly hoped that they'd roll it out as a bonus encore. Nope. Right off the bat.

But at least then there was lots of banter (from who I assume was Prince Be, not Dr Giggles) about how, when they were performing on the first MTV spring break, the 'goddamn wireless mics' they hooked them up with were a problem, when mid-song his mouth got stuck on the mic and nearly killed him. At first I was all '????' because I thought they were referring to lapel mics and was imagining him flailing onstage with his chin stuck to his (undoubtedly, colorful) shirt collar with lots of blowing/garbled noises pumping through the Spring Break speakers. But I guess he meant a wireless mic attached around his head? Still.

Still.

Still, I am glad that the guy at the counter told me straight up, even just after I'd ordered my drink, that they'd already done the song I'd come for. I am $15 richer and still have the videos--which, maybe, are the perfect medium through which I can appreciate the song (even though I only saw the video about a week ago, and up till that point, had had only the song bompin' through my heart). So when I think about it this way, I have no regrets.

PS I am going to see this man when he comes to my school and maybe even meet him and have a bbq cookout! Even if his tour manager doesn't agree to a bbq, what a bbQT!! I know that video's from many years ago but you can't take the qt out of the strange wonderful seemingly inhuman man.

2007-01-13 11:23 p.m.
profile notes e-mail
Diaryland