What went wrong THIS time
< prev archive next >
Debt - Sara Teasdale

What do I owe to you

Who loved me deep and long?

You never gave my spirits wings

Nor gave my heart a song.

But oh, to him I loved,

Who loved me not at all,

I owe the little gate

That led through heaven�s wall.

That isn't the best poem I've read in the past 24 hours, as I've been trying to write a !@#^$#@!#@! poetry term paper, but I do like it. Unfortunately I'm not using this poem because I have to find three poems whose themes can be linked through at least three poetic devices, and as odd as it sounds, I can't really find too many poems about love and suicide. When you search for poems about love and suicide you get things like this poetry resource. [Although I must admit that I DO like the sad poem URLs. 131331311333!]

I think the central theme of the poems in my term paper will be "Love can sometimes change the way that people feel about other people, like it'll seemingly change the seasons even if the seasons don't change, like April will seem like cold winter because the other person is being all cold, or sometimes the seasons can make people think of their lovers of the past because of the fun times associated with the seasons, and stuff."

Sounds like a winner!

2002-10-14 5:42 p.m.
profile notes e-mail
Diaryland