What went wrong THIS time
< prev archive next >
Instead of reading and working on the things I'm required to read and work on this summer, I've been reading a reference book called The Quintessential Dictionary. I must say that it is certainly orgiastic. I was most pleased when I found that there's a term to describe when one accidentally switches the beginning sounds of words while speaking:

SPOONERISM noun the interchange or transposition of initial or other sounds in two or more words, usually by accident [after W.A. Spooner (1844-1930), English clergyman of New College, Oxford, noted for such slips of the tongue].

1. History remembers the Rev. Dr. William A. Spooner as warden of New College, Oxford, in the early 1900's and as a famous classicist. Language students remember him for his famous slips of the tongue. . . .Some of his. . .delicious distortions include: (addressing a rural audience) "Noble tons of soil"; (on observing a fight) "He delivered a blushing crow." Perhaps Spooner's best known blooper is the one he uttered in what was intended as a graceful reference to Queen Victoria. This came out as "the queer old dean" instead of "the dear old Queen." Over the years such errors of speech have become known as SPOONERISMS . . . . William Spooner's finest example (on dismissing an inadequate student): "You have hissed all my mystery lectures. You have tasted the whole worm, and must leave by the first town drain." (C. Panati, "Tips of the Slongue," Newsweek, 7/26/76, p. 80)

and I loved finding that because I do that all the fucking time. Or tucking fime? HA! Except I usually hate it when I "spoon." (HA! Yuckeee!)

And right now I am actually feeling down about missing Sloan tomorrow night (again! HA HAH AHHAHSHDSHAHDSH!!!) but typing up that entire definition distracted me for a bit.

2002-07-26 5:37 p.m.
profile notes e-mail
Diaryland