What went wrong THIS time
< prev archive next >
Continuing with my taste for 'obscure' hip-hop: have you ever paused to consider that in songs SUCH AS Missy Elliot's "Get Ur Freak On" (or the 129,589,463 remixes thereof) that they're not saying, "Holla!" but are actually making a reference to challah bread?

Well, I have. CHALLAH!

Blogger is having troubles again. Do I even need to go out of my way to say that? Neh.

The short description of this entry for the "older links" page is from a Silver Jews song that didn't even really stick with me, but I like that line. I can never ever remember my favorite lyrics when I need to recall them, but usually I can remember fragments of lyrics that I 'kind of like.' My memory is never really there for me in times of recalling things so as not to say, "Uhhh, uhhhh, uhhiiiI dunno."

By the way, I hate college. And I haven't even gone to one yet. The only college letter that I have opened since the floodgates opened after last year's PSATs was from some place in Colorado, and I didn't even look at the contents of the envelope. I had told myself, "OK, Self, you'd better get your rump in gear and GET ON THIS [motions at the dusty cardboard box full of college solicitations]." So I opened one envelope, and then walked into a different room of the house and turned on the television.

I got back at nine tonight from my school's College Night for juniors, in which everyone's favorite mantra, "You should have started preparing for college during freshman year," was repeated. Yeah. Bleh. But I actually took copious notes and tried to absorb most of the stuff the admissions officers were gabbing on about.

Nellynellynellyfurtado.

2002-01-09 10:22 p.m.
profile notes e-mail
Diaryland