What went wrong THIS time
< prev archive next >
Apparently I made it into all-district band; this is totally strange compared to last year's bomb of an all-district audition -- aw yeeuh, let's hear it for looking at the sightreading music upside-down. My chair placement makes me think that all the other high school tenor saxophone players in the district read their sightreading audition music upside-down this year. So now I am in this organization, the district youth wind ensemble thing, regular band class, and jazz band.

D00d, the only thing this signifies is that my overbite is going to get more profound. Damn those mouthpieces.

And not that baroque / Berlioz / Basie is bad, but I would like to be in a band that makes rock and roll music too.

(Admittedly, our marching band used to do a football-game-bleachers version of "Smoke on the Water" and "Iron Man" but then our band director retired and we got a new one. Now we do "Carry On Wayward Son," but the energy and conduction is totally different. Kansas would be disappointed.)

2003-01-18 11:33 p.m.
profile notes e-mail
Diaryland