What went wrong THIS time
< prev archive next >
I am listening to the Rolling Stones - Shattered.mp3 and soon it will be Mission of Burma - Progress.mp3 and after that it will be the 6ths (with Lloyd Cole) - Human.mp3. Name dropping x 3 = 3(Name dropping), in no particular order.

A! [walks in]

B! [looks up, makes astonished face] Oh! Hello!

A! Hey! [recognition]

B! Hello!

A! Fancy seeing you here [or something like that]!

B! [giggly] Yeah, ha ha ha! Well, I, .. uh, I work here.

A! So how are *you* doing? How's band this year?

B! Ah, OK. Well, you know.

A! So, are you in [comically straining] .. "Wind Ensemble" now, or whatever they call it?

B! Yeah, because I had to replace _name of former tenor sax player_ after he graduated, you know ...

A! Yeah .. how was marching band this year?

B! Well, err .... it wasn't that great. For the show, each, like, stance thing was just some amorphous blob, so it was just like a series of blobs. It was pretty bad. And we have the new band director now, not Mr _last name of former band director_, but Mr _last name of current band director_ --

A! "_last name of current band director_"??

B! I KNOW! It's such a .. a cacophanous name.

A! Heh.

B! So. Uh ... would you like to order something?

A! No, I just came to see you. [charmingly]

B! HA! Heh. Nharheha. [strange giggling]

A! Well, could I get the veggie sandwich and a coffee?

B! Yes, you can! [rings it up] Would you like a small or large coffee?

A! Uhh, small, I guess. It's for my dad, I don't really know coffees.

B! Heh. [Runs over to fill up coffee, hands cup to A!] Here you go. [Runs to ring up the group of probably-impatient customers that suddenly appeared out of nowhere, rings them up]

A! [eventually receives sandwich, walks up to counter amid other customers] Well, I'm in here often enough that I'll probably see you around.

B! Oh! Yes. Nice seeing you!

A! Nice talking to you! [waves, exits]

B! Yes! Nice! [waves ebulliently]

[END SCENE]

That is probably quite boring to youz, but it is a fairly accurate transcript of a conversation that took place last Sunday at work. The A! stands for A 2001 Graduate Who Was In Band Last Year, and the B! stands for Big Badd Bootylicious Babe, a.k.a. me. My hair was at its most unappealing and my face was at an all-time shining high, but this conversation actually flowed quite nicely. There weren't even THAT many ellipses! And I did indeed say "cacophanous," because I am just that hip. If only my mangled view of hipness would translate to actual hipness.

An amusing part is that I had an even longer conversation with this fellow around the end of the last school year, but I am pretty sure he still doesn't have the faintest idea of what my name is. That's fine, though, because he seems genuinely nice and courteous, even to people whose faces are the only thing he recognizes. And I know his name, hah. J'ai le main dessus.

There is a new guy at work. He just finished with his freshmen year at college. He is quite industrious and peppy and quick to learn the ins&outs of the job. Hmm. Usually I would feel competitive, but he's there six out of seven days a week, while I only laze about for eight hours a week. Apples and oranges, my friends, apples and oranges (ignoring the fact that I am more pear-shaped and he is more .. well, he is certainly fruit-shaped, but I don't want to be truthful).

Today in band, the bassoon guy behind me was quoting from a movie to a saxophone player near me, and he shouted, "I'll dere-leect my *own* balls!" And I just about died. And then when I finally got home today (I stayed after school, then played phone tag with my home phone number for about two hours), my younger brother told me that his friend had lent him the 'Zoolander' DVD. And I said, "Oh, yay!" And I thought to myself, Coincidence??? And then I told him this mini-anecdote. And then he laughed and played the Sims.

Which reminds me, I am getting quite addicted to that game. I'd created families before, but I only actually PLAYED the thing yesterday. It's great, although my "Wilson" family (Luke, Owen, Gwyneth Paltrow, and Andrew 'WK' [a cross between Andrew Wilson and everyone's favorite rocker]) is a lot to manage at once. Also, when I quit the game yesterday, Luke and Owen were badly depressed, Andrew WK kept getting booed for his guitar skills (although he's quite friendly), and Gwyneth Paltrow was getting her mack on with one of the neighbors. Sims imitate life? Who knows.

[END ENTRY]

2002-06-03 7:46 p.m.
profile notes e-mail
Diaryland